Mortal Kombat 11 (Game) – Giant Bomb


Fatalities and Brutalities will return in MK11.
Fatalities and Brutalities will return in MK11.

Mortal Kombat 11 is the third Mortal Kombat game set in the rebooted universe. The story involves time-travel and timelines, allowing characters to interact with younger versions of themselves. A new boss character, Kronika, has control over time itself, allowing her character to be involved in events leading all the way back to the first game in the series.

As in previous games, players earn and spend meter for various moves and abilities. Unlike previous entries, MK11 has split its meters into offensive and defensive components. Super moves, called “X-Rays” in previous games, have been replaced with “Fatal Blow” attacks, which can be triggered when a player is at or below 30% health.

Characters can be customized cosmetically as well as from a gameplay perspective, with new moves that can be mapped onto a fighter, replacing or enhancing some of their base moves. Different versions of Sub-Zero, for example, may have his traditional slide or a standing shoulder charge.

The game also features consumable augments that can enhance a character’s abilities and stats. Other consumables allow players to summon missiles, meteors, or even other characters for assist attacks. These summons appear to be missing from the multiplayer side of the game, but can be used in the Towers of Time, a rotating list of challenges that are pattern after MKX’s Living Towers or Injustice 2‘s Multiverse. Summons are activated by flicking the right analog stick in a specific direction.


Skarlet has been heavily redesigned since her debut in Mortal Kombat (2011).
Skarlet has been heavily redesigned since her debut in Mortal Kombat (2011).

While many characters may appear in Mortal Kombat 11’s story mode, these are ones who are playable on the character select screen.

Source link


Add Comment